Worsbrough Common Primary School is part of HCAT academy trust. Please click here for HCAT trustees and members information. The chair of Governors is Linda Etchell to contact please email WCPSChair@hcacdemytrust.education.

The governing body at Worsbrough Common Primary School have agreed to adhere to the Nolan principles of public service.

Nolan Principles

Holders of public office should act solely in terms of the public interest.
Holders of public office must avoid placing themselves under any obligation to people or organisations that might try inappropriately to influence them in their work. They should not act or take decisions in order to gain financial or other material benefits for themselves, their family, or their friends. They must declare and resolve any interests and relationships.
Holders of public office must act and take decisions impartially, fairly and on merit, using the best evidence and without discrimination or bias.
Holders of public office are accountable to the public for their decisions and actions and must submit themselves to the scrutiny necessary to ensure this.
Holders of public office should act and take decisions in an open and transparent manner. Information should not be withheld from the public unless there are clear and lawful reasons for so doing.
Holders of public office should be truthful.
Holders of public office should exhibit these principles in their own behaviour. They should actively promote and robustly support the principles and be willing to challenge poor behaviour wherever it occurs.

Governor Roles
The Governing Body works to support Worsbrough Common Primary on its journey to school improvement and supports the school vision in developing a respectful, responsible and resilient community. Empowering articulate. confident and independent individuals who have the skills and are ready for life long learning.

Governors do this by supporting the school in;

  • Developing the strategic plan for the school
  • Determining aims, policies and priorities for the school
  • Approving the school budget
  • Appointment and dismissal of staff
  • Setting statutory and non-statutory targets
  • Monitoring and evaluating the work of the school
  • Drafting the school profile.
  • Reviewing progress against the school’s budget and objectives
  • Securing high levels of attendance and good standards of pupil behaviour
  • Ensuring pupils have access to a broad and balanced curriculum, to prepare them for the future
  • Maintenance of school buildings
  • Ensuring the health and safety of pupils and staff

Worsbrough Common Governing Body comprises of co-opted governors, parent governors and staff governors. Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of reference for each Governor.


Linda Etchell– Chair of LGB Co-opted Governor responsible for curriculum and EYFS
Linda worked as a head teacher for 15 years and has a wealth of experience across all aspects of education including finance, safeguarding, curriculum and Early Years.  She is currently working for Sheffield Hallam University as a University Link Tutor which involves the development of trainee teachers. Her role includes visiting schools throughout the area to support trainees and their mentors when they are on placement.



Shelley Shaw– Vice Chair of LGB Parent Governor responsible for safeguarding
Shelley is one of the parent governors for the school. She has a son in year 4 and one in F2 so has a good understanding of all the key stages and the different challenges being a parent can bring. She currently works full time and lives in the local area so you will very often see her rushing up the path to school at 3:30 (ish) and doing the breakfast club drop off. She wanted to be a governor at school so she could bring to the meetings any strengths and areas of development that parents have about all aspects of school life, as well as bringing information back from the meetings to parents.


Stephen Gallagher- Vice Chair of HCAT
Stephen is the Vice Chair of the Trust. He has over 25 years’ experience as a governor. He has served as Chair and Vice Chair at two schools in Barnsley. Currently, he has oversight of the School’s Science and IT curriculum. He is a solicitor specialising in employment law. This gives him experience with HR matters, workforce planning, and legal risk management and performance management/ improvement.



Joe Kinsella– Parent Governor responsible for behaviour and safety
Joe is dad of two, one of whom is in year four and one who has just started in F1 so he has an interest in what’s happening in all key stages. He is new to the parent governor role and volunteered  because he wanted to be more active in his children’s school life. He works full time in the local area and has experience working with a lot of different agencies and members of the community, experience he hopes will help him in his role. Joe wants to hear parents ideas/concerns about school life. Feel free to say hi if you see him around.


Darryl Jones– Parent Governor responsible for Curriculum

Hello my name is Darryl. I am proud to be a governor here at WCPS. I have over 15 years experience of working within education and in particular SEN, where my expertise are within behaviour and pupil welfare. I am currently employed as Pastoral Manager to the SPP where I use my expertise work across Greenacre, Springwell and Joseph Norton Academy. I hope that with my expertise I help WCPS to continue their journey with continuing improvement.



Paul Robson– Co-opted Governor responsible for pupil premium and curriculum
Before Paul took the step into education he worked for M&S for over 14 years leaving the role as a Commercial Manager to start life at Holgate School Sports College before moving to the newly built Horizon Community College, to take up the position as Community Enterprise Coordinator & a new leadership role within the Year 10 school. Having left Horizon at the end of 2016 he has since set up the successful ‘Primary School Enterprise Challenge’ a new project which sees Primary schools from across the Yorkshire region take on real life enterprise challenges that help develop skills such as resilience, confidence & leadership. Paul is very passionate about helping to support entrepreneurship in Primary education. 


Alice Guest– Co-opted Governor responsible for curriculum
Alice currently works for Huddersfield Local Authority for the EHCP team.




Kate Ainley– Teaching Staff Representative
Kate is Deputy Head at Worsbrough Common Primary School.




Lisa Gray– Non-Teaching Staff Representative
Lisa is the Senior Lead Practitioner for Nurture and Wellbeing  at Worsbrough Common Primary School.




Register of Business Interest WCPS 2021.22